RSS Feed

It’s Still Scattered Saturday After All

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: people who go on about their health woes are tiresome, yet here I go.  Now it’s a cold!  I have a crappy, sicky headache and a sore throat.  I feel like crap!  I can’t write a blog post when I feel like crap!

Well, apparently I can because, well, here I am.  I got myself out the door to go adventuring earlier.  I drove all the way to Dolgeville, NY (preview of coming attractions).  Then I came back home and have been nursing myself, not very successfully. Now I want to get the blog post typed in and published before Steven comes home from work.

I intend to cook some rainbow peppers, yellow onions and sweet sausage.  That will not make much of a cooking post, however, because I’m just going to throw them all in a casserole dish and put the casserole dish into the oven.  Then we might make sandwiches (sammiches, as some say) using French Peasant Bread from Heidelberg Bakery in Herkimer, NY.  I mention the bread just to give my post a little local flair.

Ooh, and I just remembered that the sausage has a local story too.  I stopped on the way home from work yesterday at the Mohawk Village Market.  They have a regular old-fashioned butcher department.  All the meat there looks wonderful!  I intend to return soon for some absolutely beautiful London broil and perhaps stuffed pork chops.  Yum!

As I walked back to the meat counter, I saw a Little Library.  There was a doll house and bookshelf filled with books.  You could take one, leave one. I’ve heard of these Little Libraries but had never encountered one, much less in a store.  I found three books I wanted to read.

“Can I take these books and bring books back at another time?” I asked.

“You can do whatever you want,” the lady behind the counter assured me.  “Bring them back, keep them, bring others in, whatever!”

You can imagine my delight.

Mohawk Village Market is located at 24 W. Main St., Mohawk, NY, phone number 315-866-3344.  You can also Like them on Facebook.

 

4 responses »

  1. This was a really nice Saturday. I like the little libraries that I have seen on blog posts and in an article. I saw one feature where one was like a shelf on a mailbox. I have not run into one yet. My Mom’s senior living apt has free to take books and return them or not. 🙂

    Reply
    • I’ve seen them in news stories like you describe, like a shelf on a mailbox, outside. Full disclosure: I haven’t started reading the books yet, although I did call my Mom to see if she and Dad had the Janet Evanoviches I picked up (they did)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

