RSS Feed

A Sad Post

It’s that awkward moment when you thought you did not have rehearsal, then you find out you do, but you still have to make your blog post, and you realize you’re making a terrible run-on sentence, but you do not want to backspace it out, because that is a slippery slope that leads to no blog post at all.  Oh dear.

And I am very sad.  I just found out a Facebook friend of mine passed away yesterday.  Rick truly was a Facebook friend. He requested me. I think I had made some comments on my high school class reunion page, and he was from my high school.  I thought he must be a classmate I could not immediately recall (I graduated with a class of some 580), but it soon became apparent he was a little older and had been to Vietnam.  Of course I was happy to be friends with a fellow veteran.  He used to share good songs and historic information about such things as the Tuskegee Airmen, of which I believe his father was one (I could have that wrong, but at least I know his father was a high speed airman or soldier of some sort).

I also liked Rick’s politics.  I try to keep politics off my blog, but I have been known to indulge in a mild sort of way on Facebook.  Rick had some friends whose views were diametrically opposed to his, so I saw some lively discussions.  I enjoyed reading them, because for the most part, participants were respectful of each other:  “I love you, brother, but you’re wrong.”

So I feel too sad to write a real blog post.  He was a good man, and now he is gone.  I did not know him well, but I am thankful for what I knew of him.  Peace to you, my friend.

 

6 responses »

  1. So sorry for your loss of your friend, Rick. 🕊 🌈

    Reply
  2. You were in my thoughts that week. . . 🕊

    Reply

Leave a Reply

