RSS Feed

That Darn Doodah Parade!

I said “darn” because it is a family friendly event.

What a week I am having!  Rehearsals Monday and Wednesday, a preview performance Thursday, and the Ilion Doodah Parade on Friday!  And anybody who is saying huffily, “I see you had Tuesday off. I had something to do EVERY night this week, even Sunday!”  can just be quiet.  I bet there is somebody else who is even busier than you, only they are not writing a blog post about it.

Where was I?  Ah yes, stressing over the Ilion Doodah Parade tomorrow.  I am marching with other m embers of the Ilion Little Theatre Club (ILT).  Of course most of my summer is being taken up with LiFT Theatre Company of Little Falls, but I must make time for ILT once in a while.  For one reason, my good friend Kim is in charge of our participation in the parade.  I’m always ready to join Kim for a Mohawk Valley adventure!

My big problem is a familiar one for me.  What, oh WHAT shall I wear?  Last year I dressed as a pirate.  Some folks wore jeans and a t-shirt from a show.  Not all of our shows have t-shirts made, but, for example, the Herkimer County Historical Society gave the whole cast of Roxy t-shirts.  I, of course, was in Roxy (perhaps you read a few of my blog posts about it; that was in 2015).  Well, I’m sure wearing a theatre t-shirt is fine for some people, but I like to be a little more distinctive. OK, I just have to put n a show.  I thought you knew that about me.

So I could be a pirate again.  Or I could wear the outfit I’m working on for tonight’s preview performance.  A co-worker suggested I wear the outfit I wore for Rubbed Out at Ruby’s.  There are many possibilities.

Right now, however, I can’t think about it.  I have to get ready for my Preview Performance. I wonder if I will have time to write a blog post about it before the Doodah Parade tomorrow.

For more information about the Doodah Parade, you can visit the Ilion Days website at http://www.iliondoodah.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

