RSS Feed

Post Race Post

I was going to title this “To Dress or to Blog?”  but I did not want to invite unkind comments about how nobody wants to see me naked.  Also, it would not be clear that this is yet another post about the Boilermaker.  Which I just ran.  Ah-ha-ha-ha-ha! (That was a triumphant laugh, by the way.)

So this is not going to be a great post.  I ran. It was not easy for an overweight woman of my age who, as it turns out, perhaps did not train enough.  However, I finished without resorting to walking.  Full disclosure:  towards the end, my run could not catch up with some of the walkers.  I will write more about the run later.  For now my purpose is merely to publish something, so I can get on with celebrating my triumph as soon as Steven gets home from work.

For anyone just tuning in, the Utica Boilermaker is the best 15K race in the nation, possibly in the world.  It seems as if the entire City of Utica as well as the surrounding area turns out to run, volunteer or cheer folks on.  Runners come from all over the world, including elite runners from places like Kenya as well as those who run for fun and fitness from places like Syracuse and Rochester.  I believe folks come from farther afield, but I did not encounter any of those today.

My challenge now is to find a cute outfit to put on such that Steven will realize that the best way to celebrate is to take me out somewhere nice.  Or I could just sit here in my bathrobe, which I put on after a delicious shower, and he will probably make me a grilled cheese sammich.  I do like grilled cheese.  It is good to have options.  Tune in tomorrow, on Mental Meanderings Monday, which I will either tell you what I wore or describe in greater detail my triumphant Boilermaker run.  Happy Sunday, everyone.

 

8 responses »

  1. years ago, I tried running. Until my boyfriend pointed out walkers were walking faster than I was jogging.

    Reply
    • If you like running, I encourage you to run. A friend of mine in the Army, who was very high-speed in almost every respect, said when she ran marathons, the speed-walkers passed her. If it was good enough for her, it’s good enough for me! Actually, I don’t know that any of the walkers passed me, but I wish I had passed a few more of them!

      Reply
  2. My brother runs a lot! I have been known to run a 5k but never more. I can walk a fifteen minute mile but don’t like to run!
    Congratulations!! You go, Cynthia! 🏃👟👟

    Reply

Leave a Reply

