RSS Feed

Monday Meatball Mix-up

This is not really a cooking post.  It’s not even really a cooking mishap post.  Oh, I’ll just write it an decide what kind of post it is when I’m done.  It’s that sort of a Monday.

I intend to give blood later this week.  I have had problems with this in the past, namely feeling woozy and ill after they took what seemed a very reasonable amount of blood out of me.  I thought maybe if I ate things with iron in them all week, I might do better.  What has iron in it, I asked myself.  Liver, but I hate liver.  Spinach.  I love spinach!  However, Steven does not love to just eat spinach.  He likes it in things.  I thought, Italian wedding soup.  Yum!

I knew I had spinach in the freezer and chicken broth in the cupboard (yes, purists make the chicken broth from scratch; I didn’t have all day for this!).  I did not have the little tiny pastas, but I had some little tubey-looking ones I thought would be fine.  All I needed was the little meatballs.  Accordingly, I stopped at the store (YES, the freezer section for the pre-made kind, not the meat department so I could make the balls from scratch; we’ve been through this already).

The first problem was that I did not have chicken broth, only beef broth.  Oh well, beef meatballs, beef broth, this will be OK, just a different flavor.

The second mishap was when I started to put the meatballs in and realized I had gotten the full-sized ones, not the minis.  Oh dear!  This was going to look silly, and be awkward to eat.  However, the broth was in the pot and hot; it was too late to change my mind and make tomato sauce (I believe I have a jar Paul Newman’s.  There could be no possible objection to using Paul Newman’s instead of scratch).

And how did the meatball soup turn out?  I don’t know yet.  I just paused between the last paragraph and this one to put the pasta on.  It’s ditalini, by the way (I checked the box when I went out there). I feel certain it will be fine.  For one reason, I’m quite hungry.  Happy Monday, everyone.

OK, before I added the categories and tags, the pasta was done and we ate.  It was yummy!  I LOVE soup!

 

 

Leave a Reply

