RSS Feed

“Charles Nelson Reilly Isn’t Wearing Socks”

It is that moment of the evening when a blogger has got to just pour herself a glass of wine and make the damn blog post.  Oh, I know, it is perfectly possible to make a blog post without drinking wine and, indeed, that is what I usually do.  But what fun is that on a Friday?  Especially on a Friday when one has weekends off and this is a three-day weekend.  If this is not you, don’t hate on me.  I had plenty of jobs where it was not the case.  In fact, my own husband has none of the next three days off, so even my life is not perfect.

Be all that as it may, today is Lame Post Friday.  As lame as this whole week has been, blog-wise, today I am going to relax even more and be even sillier.  I wonder if I should include pictures.

love, Love, LOVE Match Game!

This is the picture I saw on Facebook yesterday and wanted to include in the blog post.  It was on a page called Iconic Cool, which posts all kinds of awesome photos.  They posted this one because Charles Nelson Reilly died ten years ago May 25.  It brought to mind the oft-repeated line of Brett Somers on the show Match Game:  “Charles Nelson Reilly isn’t wearing socks.”  Someday I’d like to write a book with that title. Perhaps about a murder taking place backstage at Match Game 75 (year subject to change, but I always felt the show sounded incomplete without the year).

Well, now I feel I should include more pictures.  On the other hand, perhaps my readers will become impatient with me if all I ever do is post pictures I find on Facebook with my silly comments.  Back to the first hand, it is fun to use pictures, and I can always strive to improve myself with future blog posts.  Especially if I continue to post every day.

I should have led with this one.

 

Monsters is my usual default, as you may have noticed.  I found this on Dracula’s House of Halloween, one of my favorite Facebook pages.

In fact, it is not my favorite Shakespeare monologue.

To close out this post, I go Shakespearean and punny.  I was looking and looking in a Punmanship group for a good joke to share.  This one taps into my deep-seated fear of boring my readers.  I see I am almost to 400 words (oops, over now).  Way too long for a Friday Lame Post!  I hope my readers will forgive me, and I hope to see you all on Scattered Saturday.

 

2 responses »

  1. love the Shakespeare pic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

