RSS Feed

Nosferatu and Flowers

I wonder if I should make Nosferatu the mascot of this blog.  This evening, not wanting to do another Running Commentary  and having no other blog post anywhere in my brain, I went out into my yard and took some pictures on my tablet.  I used the tablet to transfer the pictures to my blog then went to the laptop to add the words (hoping I could think of some).  And look what the first picture was:

Isn’t he charming? I must have tapped the picture by accident.

Being less than computer literate can add interest to one’s life, I find.  Getting back to the pictures I intended to use,  here are some tulips in our front yard:

They are surrounded by lilies of the valley, which has not bloomed yet.

We did not plant any tulips, but the first spring we were in this house, one yellow tulip sprouted.  Yay!  It has taken some years, but now we are getting several.  The picture doesn’t show it, but there are more buds which have not bloomed yet.

What our front yard had in abundance at first were wild orange day lilies.  The stems were long and didn’t have any leaves on them.  I thought they looked blowsy.  Steven kept mowing them down and eventually they got discouraged.  That was when a single shoot of peony came up.  That has multiplied in succeeding years as well.  Here is a photo of the peony bush so far:

I’ll post another picture when they bloom.

Moving into the backyard, I took a picture of a lovely plant we purchased at a Garden Festival at the Herkimer Home in Little Falls.  I forget what it is called.

I like that the greenery is so pretty even without the flowers.

It has grown and spread since the first year, which I do not mind a bit.  In fact, a little piece of it magically appeared further back in the yard, near my chives:

Yeah, there’s a dandelion, too, but I don’t dare pull it up, because I read somewhere that dandelions are good for bees.

So this is my yard before I have done any work in it.  Since I led with Max Schreck, I wish I could say it looked a little scary, but I think it is actually kind of nice.  I hope to post more pictures as it starts to look even better.  As always, I hope you’ll stay tuned.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Writing About Not Writing About Boston Legal | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

