RSS Feed

Beer over Exercise

Yum!

When I was running on Friday afternoon, I ran by the Endzone Pub & Grub on Main Street in Herkimer.  Two guys were sitting at a table on the sidewalk out front, sipping beer.

“That’s where I want to be!”  I said.   Yesterday, I was.

Steven and I had meant to walk to the post office, which we did, then take a long(ish) way home, so it would be good exercise.  Our steps took us by the Endzone and I suggested, not very seriously, that we go in and have a beer.  Much to my surprise, Steven agreed.  I guess when it comes to a choice between beer and exercise, beer wins.  We went in and sat at the bar.

When I asked what was on draft, the bartender told us they had just tapped the Sam Adams Seasonal Ale.  That sounded good to us.  It was!  Very light and flavorful, an excellent summer drink.  Yesterday was such a lovely sunny day, we enjoyed the brew quite a bit.  Towards the end of the beer, Steven said he was hungry.  Obviously the sensible thing to do would be to go home and cook supper, but I said I thought they served food at the Endzone.

“Yes, they have food here,” said a young lady who had just entered and was about to take her drink to one of the tables outside.

We got hot dogs and macaroni salad, with another draft.  Yum!  After we finished eating, we went and sat outside to finish our beers.  A young man went jogging by, and I shared my story of running by and envying the beer drinkers on Friday.  The lady who had told us they had food applauded my better decision to sit and drink beer.  It was a very enjoyable interlude.

The Endzone Pub & Grub is located at 129 N. Main St., Herkimer, NY, phone number 315-219-5796.  They are open Monday from 2 p.m. to 2 a.m., Tuesday through Saturday from noon to 2 a.m., and Sunday from noon to midnight.  You can Like them on Facebook.  I did.

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

