RSS Feed

Trying to Get My Act Together

So I managed to go running again today.  That’s two Mondays in a row, and I don’t usually run on a Monday.  Oh dear.  I don’t usually write good blog posts on Monday either.  Well, I’m here and I’m typing.  I’m sure I can come up with something.

Full disclosure:  I typed in that paragraph and then just sat here.

All day I kept reminding myself that I intended to run, hoping to internalize the message and not talk myself out of it later.  I did not run yesterday and may not have time to run tomorrow.  Naturally at the end of the day, I wanted to talk myself out of it.  However, when I got home, I got into my running clothes without further discussion with myself.  As part of my ongoing quest to get my act together, I put a load of laundry in the washer before I set out.

It was neither a bad nor a good run.  I ran slowly.  My legs did not feel too bad.  I had to concentrate on taking deep breaths, but I did not have a Vocal Chord Dysfunction episode (which sound a lot worse than it is, both talking about it and when I actually have an episode).  I felt happy that I had run, especially while I walked around the block for my cool-down.

After stretching, I put the clothes from the washer into the drier.  Then I went upstairs and spent exactly ten minutes cleaning the second bedroom before taking my shower.  Remember my ongoing quest to get my act together?  That was part of it: to spend ten minutes a day cleaning.  I’m hoping that some days I get into the rhythm and spend more than ten minutes, but on a Monday after a run, I thought ten minutes was pretty good.

And now I see that I’ve got over 300 words at a blog post.  Maybe my act is more together than I think it is!  Let’s concentrate on that, and not on the embarrassing fact that I have reached my mid-50’s and still don’t have my act together.

 

2 responses »

  1. Just the fact that you actually put on your running clothes and went for a run is a huge achievement. I know so many people who say they will and then give up. I hope it continues for you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

