RSS Feed

Pre Prohibition Party Post

I get by with a little help from my friends.  That is a profound lyric, I find, and I would go so far as to say it is true for all of us.  Anybody who says they do not get help from their friends is either kidding themselves or leads a very sad life.  I try to avoid speaking in absolutes like that, because I am no hand at argument, but I feel strongly about this.

Could this be some half-baked philosophy suitable for Lame Post Friday?

As a matter of fact, I started out to post the silly story of me getting ready for the Prohibition Party at Gerber’s 1933 Tavern (I keep forgetting the year; I want to call it 1834, like the jail in Herkimer).  Now, having recently participated in a murder mystery with a speakeasy setting, you might think I had a prohibition era costume ready to hand.  Not so much.  Ruby’s dress was, well, Ruby’s.  It was perfect for the character.  For me going to an event at a local tavern, I wanted something else.  Oh, all right, something sexier.  Don’t middle-aged ladies ever get to feel attractive?  Who makes up these rules anyways?

To be honest, I don’t think my gyrations getting ready are all that interesting.   However, I did come up with an outfit I think it passable.  The reason I put the opening paragraph is that I am waiting for my friend Kim to come over and offer her input and encouragement.  She is pretty awesome.  I hope she will approve of my outfit, or at least tell me something better to put on.  If anybody takes any pictures, I may post one in a future post.  If I don’t look too ridiculous.

Happy Friday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

