RSS Feed

Groovin’ on a Sunday Afternoon

I always thought it was “Cruisin’ on a Sunday Afternoon,” but earlier today,  I sang it with “Groovin’,” because that is what we are doing.  As I sat here groping for a blog post, Steven suggested “Groovin’ on a Sunday Afternoon.”  I looked it up on YouTube and, sure enough, it is “groovin'”.  That is good, because Steven is not in the mood to go cruisin’, even though the freezing rain we were warned about has not materialized.  Just saying.

So here I am on Wrist to Forehead Sunday, about to pause in my blogging (tee hee, “blogging” as a verb always amuses me) to check on the soup I started earlier.  It isn’t really soup yet; I’m still at the cooking onion and garlic in oil stage (regular readers will know that is how most of my recipes start).

The onions and garlic had started to get dark brown (not black yet, but), so I added the chicken broth.  Yes, I am using chicken broth out of a box and it’s store brand at that.  Hey, I never said this was a cooking blog; I didn’t even say this was a cooking post.  The package said do NOT add water to the broth, but I added a little, putting it in the empty box and swirling it around.  Why would I not add water when I expect the stuff to boil or at least cook down a little?  By the way, I am cooking with wine.

In case anybody is interested, I intend to add spinach, cheese tortellini and a carrot to the soup.  The spinach and tortellini are frozen; the carrot is fresh.  I chopped some for my lunches this week and one to put in the soup.  I don’t care for cooked carrots, but Steven likes them, and they add flavor to the soup.  Also they are good for you.  I don’t say I lead a healthy lifestyle, but I try to sneak in a little nutrition now and then.

Speaking of healthy lifestyle, I went running again today.  I think I will be just fine for the Boilermaker 15K.  I discovered today there is a 5K in Herkimer in June I may like to do.  I’ll let you know about that.

 

Leave a Reply

