RSS Feed

I Should Be a Movie Star

Why would I not have a Lame Post Friday?  It’s opening night of Steel Magnolias!  I have other things on my mind!  Will I remember everything?  I’m not talking about my lines (although it would be good if I remembered all of those too), but what about my costume pieces, props, ooh, and my contact lenses?  Will my hair stay on?

Ah, you think that last one was a joke?  Alas, no.  In the first scene I have to wear some fake hair, so that in the second scene when Truvy calls attention to my new short hair-do, it makes sense.  I meant to write a whole, humorous blog post about my hair troubles, but I’m afraid if I tried to do it now, it would just make me upset (is that a run-on sentence?  I usually know these things, but I am flustered).

Yes,  I have opening night jitters.  The closer it gets to time to go to the theatre, the more jittery I feel.  This is completely natural.  I bet even Tony award winning actors feel this way.  I say Tony not Oscar, because I can’t imagine movies give you the same jitters.  Just do another take! It is really no wonder that many people feel the stage is real acting and movies are not. Now don’t start defending movies to me!  I love movies!  Of course it is real acting (well, some of it is and some of it sucks, we won’t get into that).  But that lots of takes thing really has my envy tonight.

I’m sure everything will go fine.  And if it does not, well, that is the excitement of live theatre. I’m sure enough will go well to entertain our audience (sometime they are entertained by the mistakes, but we prefer to avoid going that route.  I will probably mention it tomorrow, when I make my Scattered Saturday blog post about how I was too tired after Opening Night to do much of anything.  Happy Friday, everyone.

For local, theatre-going readers,  that’s Steel Magnolias at Ilion Little Theatre, Remington Ave., Ilion, NY, March 3, 4, 10 and 11 at 8 pm., 5 and 12 at 2 p.m.  For more information, visit www.ilionlittletheatre.org or go to their Facebook page.

 

2 responses »

  1. A long way to Tipperary. . . Or Ohio! Wish I could be there, break a leg! (Belatedly!)
    I was in theater in high school, minor roles and finally Senior year: Student Director. I took acting classes and actually knew Patricia Heaton (Everybody Loves Raymond was good but I like The Middle better. More fun and less mean comments.) One of my HS friends went to New York, lived with a gay guy (late 70’s into the 80’s) She went to Juilliard and met Sidney Poitier’s daughter and married a Juilliard musician. She was one of my first marriages bridesmaids. 🙂

    Reply
    • I completely agree about The Middle over Everybody Loves Raymond. I don’t think any of my high school friends went on to NYC, although a couple of Steven’s college buddies are there or in LA (one had a walk-on in the first Austin Powers movie!). I think community theatre is the best place for me. I love it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

