RSS Feed

My Funky Valentine

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!  I was unable to write a blog post earlier today, so I am doing the thing of finding pictures previously downloaded onto my laptop and writing about them.  The first thing to catch my eye is a not very romantic couple.  Just the sort of thing my twisted outlook would like to think about on Valentine’s Day.

13612269_1203927272985829_119681706298521818_n

As things turned out, it was not a love story for the ages.

Chester Gilette and Grace Brown were an item in 1906, although he really was not that into her.  He tossed her in the lake, because she was pregnant and he didn’t want to marry her.  It is a famous murder case that was tried in the Herkimer County Courthouse.  Gilette was housed at the 1834 Jail across the street.  I’m not going to write a whole blog post about it; I just thought I’d share the picture.

13321914_1334617086555443_8331261097271334411_n

Also not a great love story, but I believe they were great friends.

Elsa Lanchester and Charles Laughton were married when they played a curmudgeonly lawyer recovering from a heart attack and his annoyingly cheerful nurse (um, not respectively) in Witness for the Prosecution, one of my all time favorite movies.  Their relationship is a highlight of the picture, although it was in neither the short story nor the play of that name. Watch the movie.  It is very entertaining.

13173750_1139973142721031_9203013785711853419_n

The 13th was just yesterday, although it was not Friday.

I end with Betsy Palmer and Jason, from Friday the 13th. Full disclosure:  I have never seen that movie.  I don’t know who the actor is, or even if it is a stunt double in the picture.  Steven tried to look it up in one of his Leonard Maltin books, but it was not clear which actor listed played the part.  So much for a well-researched blog post.

In any case, my dinner is ready, and  I have to go early to rehearsal tonight.  I declare this better than a Tired Tuesday post. Hope to see you all on Wuss-out Wednesday.

 

Leave a Reply

