RSS Feed

Let’s Just Say I Drove a Lot

It is quite late to make my Scattered Saturday post.  In fact, it is Sunday morning.  Don’t judge.  Oh, no, I guess I don’t want to tell people what to do.  Judge me if you must, but I’m not doing prison time for it.  Where was I?  Ah yes, Scattered Saturday.

I’m still so tired from it, I don’t think I can give a coherent blow-by-blow of all where I went and what I did.  Mostly where I went, actually, because I spent a lot of time driving around the greater Utica area.  I went through Whitestown, Whitesboro, New York Mills, New Hartford and Yorkville.  I saw the sign for Clinton but did not venture that far.  I also think I missed Washington Mills.  Note to self:  find out exactly where Washington Mills is.

That brings up a kind of a silly story.  My friend, Diane, and I were in the late, greatly missed Albany Street Cafe (Asteroga Ale House is there now, a perfectly nice place, but I really enjoyed Albany Street Cafe).  We were sitting at the bar, chatting with the bartender.  He told us his name was Clinton.  The next time we were there, Diane called him Kirkland.  He corrected her. I said, “I knew you had the same name as a town around here, but all I could think of was Washington Mills.”   As we all know, that is the kind of foolish joke I make.

Anyways, my travels Saturday were in search of costume pieces for Rubbed Out at Ruby’s, which I believe I have mentioned before. I had the best luck at Party City.  I don’t usually plug chain stores, but what a fun place!  I found a feather boa, a garter, fake cigarettes and a holder!  I’m going to look cool!  I had a nice time looking around Queen’s Closet in Yorkville, as well as a nice conversation with the lady there, but I ultimately did not purchase anything.  The highlight of my morning was breakfast at Raspberry’s in New Hartford.  Oh, and back in Herkimer, I hit the Indoor Garage Sale at Trinity Lutheran Church on the corner of Henry and German streets, where I got Steve a small token for Valentine’s Day.

I will not offer any excuse for making my Saturday post on Sunday, because excuses are tiresome.  However, I hope my readers will forgive me and join me later today, when I expect it will be a true Wrist to Forehead Sunday.  As for me, I shall have some coffee now.  Can you believe I got out of bed and made a blog post without it?  Doesn’t that make this practically the same thing as posting it on Saturday?  Discuss amongst yourselves.

 

3 responses »

  1. Since I am not reading it until Monday and all your posts are mis-dated um, I guess I didn’t notice. 🙂

    Reply
    • Wait this post is dated the 12th. Is that right? I mean was that the correct date for the post? Now I am just confused. 🙂

      Reply
      • My posts are all misdated, so I thought, but I don’t really pay a great deal of attention to these things. I don’t know how to fix it and I don’t really care enough to try. I actually wrote it early Sunday morning. I should have written it sometime on Saturday. I think this is only the second time I have missed a day since I started, so I say, not bad, me.

Leave a Reply

