RSS Feed

Crime for Christmas

Thank God for Snapped on Oxygen!  There I was, listening to Christmas music while trying to get presents together, and all of a sudden I just couldn’t take the Christmas!  I wanted murder!  Oh dear, that didn’t sound very good, did it?  I was going to post this as my Facebook status when I thought it might do for a blog post.  Perhaps it is too macabre and unseasonal a thought for either venue.

So this was going to be a Scattered Saturday post, or perhaps a brief shout-out to Heidelberg Bakery, where I went first thing this morning. It’s just going to be one of those Posts About Why I Can’t Write a Post Today.   I think my post-Christmas letdown came early, so folks who are still high on the fa-la-la might want to skip this one.

Christmas Eve used to be my favorite day of the year.  I realized today that this is no longer the case.  And, you know what?  As soon as I typed those last two sentences, I no longer wanted to kvetch.  Why should I rain on everybody else’s holidays?  That’s more of a job for Ben’s Bitter Blog.  I wouldn’t like to horn in on his territory, although there might yet be room in the bitter pond, even with the incredible number already there.

The fact is, writing is working its usual magic.  Putting words on the keyboard (paper works, too) is putting me in a better mood.  I DO love Christmas!  And I love Christmas Eve! And I love watching true crime shows!  I’m going to write a murder mystery that takes place at Christmas-time.  In the meantime, Merry Christmas to all my readers, or Happy Hanukkah, or Happy Saturday.  I hope your December 24 is grand.

(Although I guess my WordPress site is going to say this was posted on the 25th.  I am always off kilter.)

 

7 responses »

  1. I needed a little break from Christmas too but I turned to football. Men smashing each other in all sorts of weather! Seems like it should be a crime but no…it’s a sport!

    Reply
  2. I’ve never been too big on the holidays to be honest, and this year is no different. I haven’t even put up a tree. However I did buy presents and will cook up a feast.

    By the way, I beat you to your crime fiction taking place at Christmas. You should check out my Moreau Witches series 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, there is quite a pantheon of crime taking place at Christmas. I shall certainly seek out your series. I think people should celebrate holidays or not however and as they see fit. I may write today’s blog post about that.

      Reply
      • Yes, in Jamaica that’s a big problem. People snatch phones and purses. In America, they snatch packages of doorsteps.

        And thank you. I hope you enjoy the Moreau Witches.

        I do believe people should celebrate as they see fit. I chose to work, as did my mom, so we’re not celebrating until Monday.

      • I hope you have a joyous celebration. Incidentally, there is a lot of fictional crime at the holidays as well (I have a minor collection of it, which I sometimes display this time of year).

      • Really? I wonder what inspires people to publish that genre at this time…

        And thank you. All the best for the holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

