RSS Feed

I’m Claree!

I just imagine everybody is waiting with bated breath to see if I have been cast in Ilion Little Theatre’s upcoming production of Steel Magnolias.  Yes, I know, that’s what I said:  I am just imagining it.  Nevertheless, that is the topic of today’s blog post.

Last night I got a call from the director of the play, offering me the part of Claree.  She is the former first lady of Chinquapin (nobody at auditions knew how to pronounce it either; I’m not even sure I’ve spelled it correctly). I think I read on the back of the script that Claree is an eccentric millionaire with a sweet tooth (I haven’t gotten my script yet, so I can’t double check that).

Full disclosure:  the part I originally had a hankering for was Ouiser, who has the immortal line, “I’m not crazy, I’ve just been in an incredibly bad mood for the past forty years.”  A co-worker described her as “the miserable one” and thought I’d be perfect for the part.

After reading scenes at auditions, I am quite happy with the part of Claree.  I think it will be a very fun role.  Additionally, the actress cast as Ouiser is marvelously talented and a great person to work with (she was my stage manager for Leading Ladies, the play I directed last spring).  I have worked with most of the other cast members as well, and they are awesome.

Another full disclosure:  I kind of wish the play had a few more roles, because some of the ladies who did not get cast would have been great to work with too. As I often say, you can’t have everything (no matter what the positive-thinking Facebook memes say!).

I am looking forward to beginning rehearsals for Steel Magnolias.  Performance dates are the first two weekends in March.  That should give us plenty of posts before this blog becomes All Steel Magnolias All The Time.

 

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations! Sounds like a fun role.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

