RSS Feed

My Cheesy Saturday Stop

One of my favorite stops on Shop Small Saturday was Original Herkimer Cheese in Ilion, NY.  I had first tried Herkimer Cheese at a wine tasting at Ilion Wine and Spirits (just to plug another local business).  I was delighted to discover another local cheese maker.  I went home and Liked them on Facebook.  Fast forward to November 2016, when I learned they were having a Holiday Open House.

It was not hard to find the place, out Otsego Street a little beyond Ilion Farmer’s Market (another favorite destination).  I walked in to find several people enjoying free samples and chatting.  I happily tried some Chutter and Cheddar as well as two kinds of cheese dip.

20161126_110428

Everybody enjoyed the samples.

One of the ladies working (I foolishly did not ask their names) said she would be happy to open anything else people wanted to try.  After looking in the cooler, I asked to sample the Asiago Bacon Horseradish dip.  Yummy!  I got some of that and some Buffalo Bleu Cheese dip. Just before turning away from the cooler, I noticed some garlic and herb cheese and grabbed that too.  I was sure I would like something called “garlic and herb” without sampling it first.

I looked around the room at some of the other wares for sale, especially noticing some mustard and crackers that looked good.

20161126_110515

I was very interested in the t-shirts that read “Keepin’ it Cheesy since 1949.”  I mentioned that I like to eat cheese and watch cheesy movies.  Everybody appreciated the double meaning.

20161126_110417

Maybe Steven will get me one for Christmas!

I was happy with my purchases and happy I discovered another good place to buy cheese. Original Herkimer Cheese is located at 2745 State Route 51, Ilion, NY 13357, phone number 315-895-7428.  For more information you can visit their website at www.OriginalHerkimerCheese.com.  Or you can stop by.  I saw on Facebook that they are hosting another open house on Saturday Dec. 3 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.  I might go there again myself!

Leave a Reply

