RSS Feed

Crock Pot Cooking with Steve

How about a cooking post on Tired Tuesday?  It involves a crock pot and my dear husband, Steven. Full disclosure: I have not eaten the meal in question yet, because I want to get my blog post done.  However, it smells pretty damn good, and I have no reason to think it will not taste good as well.

The dinner started yesterday, when Steven took some sausage out of the freezer.  He thought we had a jar of Paul Newman sauce in the pantry then remembered we ate it last week.  I had some peppers and onions in the refrigerator that I had been thinking, in a vague sort of way, of putting in the crock pot with some canned tomato sauce, which is practically always on hand.  So we ate leftovers yesterday and planned for the crock pot today.

I must confess, Steven was the main mover and shaker behind our creation.  Last night he said, “What can I do to get this crock pot thing going?  Cut up the sausage?”  It was in links.  I was at that point trying to get my blog post together, having already done a load of laundry, and feeling my usual Monday tiredness.  Steven pointed out that I get up really early in the morning with not a lot of time before leaving for work.  I knew I must bestir myself so, following his good example, I chopped up a half an onion (they were big onions) and two green peppers. I put them in a container in the refrigerator.

This morning, I was prepared to put the ingredients in the crock pot, but Steven graciously offered to do so.  I instructed him to put the onion and peppers on the bottom, then the sausage, then four cans of tomato sauce (they’re kind of small).  I explained how the crock pot must be filled to a certain amount in order to cook properly, and that vegetables cook best on the bottom or sides of the pot.  I am not an expert at crock pot cookery, but I have some experience.  I said eight or nine o’clock would be an OK time to turn it on.

When I talked to Steven during the day (I was at work; he had the day off), I told him not to stir it yet.  We stirred it when I got home.  Ooh, it was smelling good.   We took a teeny taste. I added a small can of tomato paste for thickening.  Steven sprinkled in some garlic powder, basil and oregano.  I turned the pot on high.

Now the water is on for the rotini, and I am very hungry.  If this is not the delicious meal I am expecting, I shall edit this post to say so.  But I don’t think I will have to.  Happy Tuesday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

