RSS Feed

Wine on a Friday

It’s a late, lame post on Lame Post Friday.  Too bad I’ve already used that as a headline (or similar words; I can’t be bothered to look back through past posts).  In lieu of my usual random observations and half-baked philosophy, I shall give a brief shout-out to two businesses, one local one not too far away.  I went to a wine tasting of Thousand Islands Winery at Valley Wine and Liquor in Herkimer, NY.

Thousand Islands Winery is located in Alexandria Bay, NY.  I have been there a few times, and I love it.  I have also sampled their wines at various venues in this area, farmers markets, craft fairs and wine tasting events.  They are extremely popular and with good reason.  They offer a variety of wines to please different palates.  Additionally, the people pouring are always knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.  I enjoyed a great conversation with a very nice young man as I waiting for my friend, Kim, who was also coming to taste wine.

I tried waiting for Kim to sample something, but at last I succumbed to temptation and tried the Gewurztraminer (there should be two dots over the u).  It was tasty, but I like drier wines better, so I asked for a little Merlot.  Yum!  Then Kim showed up.  She forgave me for starting without her.  She likes sweet wines and greatly enjoyed the Niagara.  We both liked the Cocoa Island, a dessert wine that combines their Cabernet Sauvignon with chocolate.

We decided we would really like to visit the winery, which Kim has never been to.  I said there were several other wineries in the area that we could visit, so perhaps we should get rooms somewhere.  The young man doing the tasting said Thousand Islands Winery had cabins for rent.  We said, “Let’s go!!!”  I’ll write a blog post about it if we do.

Valley Wine and Liquor has tastings almost every week.  For a complete listing, you can visit their Facebook page.

2 responses »

  1. I like wine, but it doesn’t like my stomach at all (or is it the other way around?). So, I am drinking cranberry juice lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

