RSS Feed

Farmers in Little Falls

Last Saturday I took a drive into Little Falls to check out the Winter Farmers Market on its first weekend for the season.  I checked the Facebook page and noted that it was at 20 Albany St.  Now, regular reader may recall that I am not especially adept at getting around in Little Falls.  Local readers will understand why.  It is a hilly place with lots of one-way streets, some of which do not come out where I expect them to.  However, after a little driving back and forth, I saw the sign for the market in the parking lot of the Travellodge Inn and Suites.

Unfortunately, I did not get a picture of that sign, which might have been nice right there.  In my defense, I had not yet written that paragraph when I was there taking pictures.  Instead, I offer a picture of the Bull Moose Produce sign.

20161112_100706

The Bull Moose people were at the only outside table.  We’ve been having a pretty comfortable week, but Saturday was COLD (yes, it rates capital letters when you take into account that we are not all acclimated yet).

“We’re taking one for the team to let people know we’re here,” the man at the table told me.  I had to appreciate the dedication.  I was delighted to purchase some sweet peppers, their last of the season.

I went inside to find one other vendor, MAWS Farm of Newport.  I did not get a picture of their sign (my bad), but I took two photos of their table:

20161112_10044820161112_100442

I got some enormous onions, one of which I used in a yummy dish I cooked the next day.

The Little Falls Winter Farmers Market runs on the second and fourth Saturday of the month.  I intend to go back next Saturday when I hope there will be more vendors.  In the meantime, here is a brief shout-out with pictures.  For more information, you can visit their Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

