RSS Feed

Well, Sure, Everything’s Great!

And I thought I had my wrist to my forehead yesterday!

I returned to work today.  I told everybody everything was great, because, well, when you round up, I guess they are.  Many people welcomed me back.  They were surprised as well as pleased to see me, because I had not told anyone I had been cleared to return.  I thought, why go announcing these things? I call enough attention to myself as it is.  Toward the end of the day I ran into a fellow I hadn’t seen yet today. He works down at the other end of the room (it’s a big room).

“So you’re back,” he observed in a friendly tone.  “And everything’s all back to normal?”

“As normal as I ever am,” I told him.  He appreciated that.

My assignment to myself now is to try to be better than normal.  It might have been a good idea to go running after work today, but I let that ship sale.  On the other hand, I finished and emailed my article for Mohawk Valley Living, one day before deadline.  I hope they like it.

Perhaps that is why I am having a hard time with this blog post.  Maybe I wrote myself out with that article.  Say it ain’t so!  Don’t I always say that writing begets more writing?  Shouldn’t I be writing a BETTER blog post after warming up on that article?  As we see, that is not the case.

On the other hand, why don’t I cut myself a break?  I worked a ten hour day in a factory after a week and a half of all the naps I could take.  I went home and finished writing a magazine article (I started it in between naps last week).  Yes, I could have gone running, done laundry, written two articles and a better blog post.  If I was some completely other woman I’ve never met or heard of.  Then I wouldn’t be Mohawk Valley Girl.  We wouldn’t want that, now, would we?

 

2 responses »

  1. I hope you are okay after going back to work! I hope the week is gentle on you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

