RSS Feed

A Blooming Silly Post

This post is in the nature of a public service announcement or maybe self-help or some such.  How to have fun at work.

Most of us have to work and many of us have given up on that illusive dream of finding a fulfilling job we love.  There are not that many of those jobs out there and they are really hard to get.  Moreover, all the other jobs still have to be done.  I have always liked the expression, “Bloom where you are planted.”  I confess to spending a lot of my life actually trying to transplant myself, but we’re not talking about that right now.  We’re blooming.  So let’s get on with the blooming blog post (see what I did there?).

My best way to have fun at work is to be silly.  I always say, go with your strengths.  If a silly joke occurs to me, I share it.  Sometimes I sing a silly song, although then I run the risk of somebody telling me to don’t quit my day job, an overused joke which I have never found particularly amusing.  But anyone might think of telling jokes and singing songs.  What can I tell you that you may not have thought of?

One thing I do is think of reasons why somebody wore a the shirt they happen to be wearing.  For example, sometimes I wear Hump Day Hot Pink or Payday Purple.  If somebody wears a black shirt on payday, I say it is because after they are paid their finances will be in the black.  If they wear red, it is obviously because even after being paid, they will still be in debt.  A blue shirt indicates that person feels blue because of the size of said paycheck, while a green shirt merely denotes money.  One of my favorite shirt days is Where’s a Shirt Wednesday, followed by There’s a Shirt Thursday.

Alas, not everybody can play the shirt game.  Some places of employment require a uniform or at least a certain color shirt.  Those people must think of other work games to play.  Or they can stick with telling jokes and singing songs.  There are other work games we can play.  I will share others in future blog posts.  In the meantime, today is Lame Post Friday.  I have posted lame and now I am going to relax. Happy Friday, folks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

