RSS Feed

Can I Help It If They Loved Me?

I was going to say to my husband Steven, “This is another fine mess you’ve gotten me into!” but I feel certain he will deny responsibility.  Well, there is no sense in placing blame.  One must deal with the situation at hand.  Anyways, we probably all saw it coming.  Really, did anybody believe that headline “I An NOT Going to Audition!“? I felt sure at the time nobody did.

All this by way of introduction to the fact that I have accepted a part in Splitting Issues at Ilion Little Theatre.  The play consists of nine short sketches.  Steven and I will appear in the last one.  It is the scene we read part of for auditions.  Yes, yes, I said I was not going to audition, will you stop throwing that up at me?  I truly did not mean to.  I was merely reading the scene with Steven to help him audition.  Can I help it if the directors loved me?

Perhaps “love” is too strong a word.  Still, they asked me to take the part in the most flattering terms imaginable (well, maybe you could imagine more flattering terms) (you know who you are).  I don’t know why they thought they had to butter me up.  I am a well-known theatre junky and usually one has only to ask.  Or even hint.  Vaguely

Still, I did hesitate before I said yes.  I need to take some time for my writing!  Could this be my subconscious fearing I am really not that good of a writer so let’s not put it to the test?  SAY IT AIN’T SO!!!  What an unflattering thought. I suppose there is only one way to refute it, and I don’t need you guys to tell me what it is! (Again, you know who you are.)  Unfortunately, I cannot put this foolproof plan for refutation in effect tonight or tomorrow.  I have rehearsal and performance for the last play I was (am) in.

Do you suppose I am suffering from a serious addiction?

 

2 responses »

  1. Lorene Farnsworth

    There’s no business like show business, break a leg, Sweetie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

