RSS Feed

Re-Enacting is a Crime

I am quite addicted to true crime shows on television. My favorite is Snapped, but I also enjoy the quality documentaries like 20/20, 48 Hours, and On The Case with Paula Zahn.

What I am not so fond of  are what I call the re-enactment-fests.  The narrator tells the story, interspersed with commentary by true-crime writers, investigators and sometimes even the participants in the drama.  During the narration, actors portray the story, with or without dialogue.

Now, to me, re-enactments are always cheesy.  In theory they can be helpful, for example showing a complicated action that is difficult to picture from mere description.  In reality, things are often re-enacted that I can perfectly well imagine and would in fact prefer to.  Snapped is a terrible offender in this respect:  sometimes they will talk about how this woman is talking to the police and they show somebody’s mouth saying words.  I KNOW what talking to the police looks like!  I don’t need to see it!

Still, I don’t consider Snapped a re-enactment-fest.  A real re-enactment-fest shows you the ENTIRE story with actors.  Snapped: Killer Couples is a re-enactment-fest.  There are many others.  Sometimes I watch them to laugh at them.  Sometimes I will come across one that shows a case I have seen in a “real” show.  Then I watch it and roll my eyes at how much prettier the re-enactors are than the original participants.

Right now I cannot find a true crime show on the television.  So I will publish this blog post talking about them.  It is, after all, Wuss-out Wednesday.

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Lorene Farnsworth

    Lmao! Yes, exactly! “Police talking to person,” right on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

