RSS Feed

Much Ado on Bad Attituesday

In lieu of the Bad Attituesday post  I was gearing up to write, I will share more information about Much Ado at the Herkimer Elks Lodge this Friday, Sept. 2.  A spaghetti dinner at 5:30 is followed by the show at 6:45 p.m. (do I really have to specify pm?  Can you imagine Shakespeare at 6:45 a.m.?  It sounds like a weapon in an old timey duel, “Shakespeare at dawn!”) (now I’m thinking that that’s a title of a play I ought to write…).

Where was I?  Ah yes, on Tuesday, looking forward to Friday.  And to rehearsal on Thursday.  I have been practicing my lines in my head.  I think I still know them.

My summer Shakespeare experience has been a great ride.  From hesitating about doing it to taking two parts to performing on four — soon to be five — different stages, I have learned a lot and laughed a lot.  I have made some wonderful theatre friends that I hope to work with again.  I have been inspired with several new writing ideas as well as a couple of directing thoughts.  And while vowing to never do another play in the summer, I am nevertheless intrigued by the possibility of stage combat in 2017.

That will be in the more distant future.  For the immediate future, I will be delighted to begin my three day weekend Friday with one last performance of Much Ado About Nothing.   Local readers are encouraged to attend. Tickets are $15 in advance, $20 at the door.  The Herkimer Elks Lodge is located at 124 Mary St., phone number 315-866-1439. The Facebook event for the show is at https://www.facebook.com/events/1710411485888274/.

 

Leave a Reply

