RSS Feed

Too Foggy to Focus

It’s not fall yet.  We are just barely half way through August.  Could somebody please explain to me, then, why my fall allergies have suddenly kicked in?  On second thought, never mind.  I don’t want to know why.  I don’t care why.  I’m just sorry that.

All this by way of introduction to, alas, another Wuss-out Wednesday.  I’m sorry, but my brain is just too foggy to focus (Too Foggy to Focus might be a good title for this post).  Could it be that my allergies are combining with menopausal brain freeze? I’m doomed!

The funny thing is, and I was talking about this earlier in a letter to my sister (ooh, must remember to mail that letter), when I first feel the twinges of sinus distress there is almost something exciting about it.  Autumn has always been my favorite season.  I enjoy the cooler weather, I drink in the colors of the changing leaves, and I adore Halloween.  Additionally, fall has always felt like new beginnings to me.

This, of course, is a holdover from school years.  Every September I looked forward to the new academic year.  Because THIS year was going to be different.  This year I was going to have my act together.  I was not going to wait till the last minute to write papers and study.  More importantly, I was going to wear the right clothes, say the right things, and have lots of friends.  Maybe even… a BOYFRIEND.  I don’t think I need to tell you that one of that ever happened.  But I felt the possibilities, and it was usually a good couple of weeks before I realized I was the same geeky, awkward oddball that I have since learned to embrace.

But we’re not talking about me.  Oh, wait a minute, we are.  It is my blog.  Brain fog, remember?  “But we’re not talking about me,” is a phrase I sometimes use when I want to change the subject.  I would change the subject now, but I am too foggy to think of one to change it to.  Then again, I see I have blathered on for over 300 words.  I’m going to go lay my spinny head down and wait for winter.  Or at least for tomorrow’s blog post.  Happy Wednesday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

