RSS Feed

Wine, Cheese, Music and History

The history, cheese and wine I alluded to in yesterday’s post (if you missed it, don’t worry about it; it wasn’t such a much) was at a wine and cheese tasting at the Historic Russian Church and One-Room Schoolhouse in Poland, NY.  We drove out there after Steven was finished at work.

Full disclosure:  I felt a little guilty for not going to see a couple of friends in a play at Players of Utica, but we were not sure we could get there on time, given Steven’s work and our lousy record of driving in Utica.  It would not matter if we were late for the wine and cheese tasting, and we are so much more comfortable driving the scenic rural roads.

It was a pleasant drive with views of farmland and mountains.  We had to ask directions at a convenience store, but that was OK with me, because I needed a cold beverage and had forgotten to bring a bottle of water from home (that’s not a run-on sentence).  I was surprised at how far out of the way the place was.  At last we were parked and walking over to the tables underneath shady trees.

A lady was playing the harp at the table where we paid our admission.  I told her it sounded lovely.  I believe it was Peggy Spencer Behrendt, who writes “Tales from Shawangunk” in Mohawk Valley Living magazine.  Shawangunk Nature Preserve had a table set up with pictures and information.  I made a small donation and picked up a bookmark.  For a larger donation I could have gotten a book or CD.

We sampled some tasty cheeses from Three Village Cheese and some yummy wine from Prospect Falls Winery.  We later purchased some of each.  Then we went into the One Room Schoolhouse to eat a couple of desserts and hear some music. Dean Batstone played acoustic guitar and sang original songs.  Before each song he would tell a little about how he came to write it.

“Most of my stories are mostly true,” he said.

Later we went into the church.  Volunteers were on hand to tell about its history and restoration.  I even got to pull the rope and make the church bell ring.

Steven picked up the Russia Civic Association newsletter.  I see they have a Facebook page.  I’ll have to seek it out so that I can attend other events at the church and schoolhouse, now that we know where they are.

 

2 responses »

  1. Small world. I drove through Poland (NY) about two weeks ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

