RSS Feed

Minor Accomplishments on Wrist to Forehead Sunday

I knew earlier today that this would be a Wrist to Forehead Sunday post.  Why I didn’t just go ahead and write it earlier. .. I was about to say I don’t know but in fact I do.  But it’s not that interesting a reason, so never mind.

This weekend has been almost a complete wash-out for me.  The few things I did:  I worked six hours of overtime, I ran twice, and I had a Mohawk Valley adventure with my husband today.  But I missed seeing a play at Utica Players, directed by an Ilion Little Theatre member and featuring two actors from Leading Ladies (remember, the play I directed this past spring?).  And I did not clean my house (ooh, one load of laundry, does that count for anything?), I did not learn my lines for Much Ado About Nothing (remember, the play I’m in in Little Falls?) (I did think about them while I worked on Saturday, does that count for anything?), I did not write anything except blog posts Friday, Saturday and, if it counts for anything, today.

I was actually pretty pleased with myself that I ran today.  When I got up I really did not want to.  It was raining when I took Spunky for his morning business meeting, but I had to admit it was not raining hard enough to preclude a run.  Then it stopped raining.  I sat down and had a cup of coffee anyways.  Then I decided to run.  So remember that.  Sometimes you don’t have to force yourself to do something.  Sometimes if you sit down and have a cup of coffee, you find you’d kind of like to do the thing anyways.

On the run I ran a major hill I didn’t mean to run.  Suddenly there I was, going up, up, up.  I kept going because I did not want to just turn around and run back down.  I ended up increasing the length of time I ran by the recommended ten percent from last week.  Score!

So I have a few choices here.  I can feel pleased by the stuff I did accomplish, chastise myself over the things I did not accomplish, or call the whole thing a wash and see what Monday brings.  Oh one other choice:  I can see if I can accomplish anything else before bedtime (always early on a Sunday, because, you know, Monday).  If I do that, perhaps I’ll write a blog post about it.  As always, I hope you’ll stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

