RSS Feed

Writing about Writing and Not Writing

How long has it been since I’ve had a real Tired Tuesday post?  Has it been a whole week already?  (Um, that was a joke.)  I have no real reason to be so tired.  I went to bed in a timely fashion last night.  I worked a normal eight hour day.  We’ll blame it on the weather.  Some people thrive in the heat and humidity.  Some of us, not so much.

I did write today.  Before my shift at work began I wrote diligently on an article to submit to Mohawk Valley Living magazine.  I concluded it on a break and felt pleased.  That was when I realized something about myself.  When I finish a piece of writing, my impulse is to stop.  I think, “Ah, done,” and I want to close the notebook and move on to something else not writing.  I don’t think this always happens, but it certainly happened to me today.

However, I did not want it to happen today.  I couldn’t think what to write a blog post about, but I had another topic for the magazine. I looked in my notebook,  to see if I had started anything on it.  I had not but found a letter I had started to a friend two weeks ago.  I worked on that.  I consider that all writing counts.  Full disclosure:  I spent one break working on a crossword puzzle with a co-worker.  I do like that mental stimulation.

I felt dreadfully tired for most of the day.  That is why I believe the weather is to blame.  Back home from work, I ran in place on the mini-tramp for 22 minutes.  It was not easy.  I think I run faster on the mini-tramp than I do on the sidewalk.  It is definitely bouncier.  When I finished that I felt so tired I didn’t want to continue standing long enough to take a shower.  However, with the amount of sweat and stink I had accumulated by then, the shower was the best place for me.

I managed to type my article into the computer, looking a couple of things up, adding and editing.  I like to think I’m a good writer.  I emailed the article to my husband Steven, so he can offer his opinion.

But my blog post, my blog post, I MUST publish a blog post!  So as you see, I sat at the laptop and just typed.  I hope my readers will find some entertainment in my words.  Happy Tuesday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

