RSS Feed

No Skulls for Spunky

Ever since we brought our new little friend Spunky home we’ve been meaning to get him a harness.  It is so much more comfortable for a little dog to have a harness than a leash on a collar, or so it seems to me.

As a side note, I’m making this post on our tablet, using the stylus and typing one letter at a time. It’s kind of fascinating, because the computer tries to guess what my next word will be.  It gives me three choices at a time, and I can click on the right one as soon as I see it.  Like some foolish bloggers game.  I think I’m losing. Perhaps  Steven will let me use the laptop soon.

Ah, on the laptop now and back to composing the post.  It isn’t really such a much as posts go, so I thought the paragraph about the tablet might add a little interest.  I SO prefer typing with all ten fingers.

Tractor Supply in Herkimer has a sign on the door that well-behaved dogs on a leash are welcome, so we grabbed the leash and our pooch and headed on over.  We quickly found the pet section and began looking at harnesses and collars.  I found a size small harness and tried it on Spunky.  I don’t think he was impressed.  We saw a similar dog with his people while we were there.  They called him Oliver. He was quite interested in sniffing Spunky, although Spunky was more interested in sniffing a display of treats.

As we looked to see if there were any other harnesses to try, I saw a collar with skulls on it.  I was certain Spunky would like a collar with skulls on it.  In any case, I would like to walk a dog with skulls on his collar.  Would you believe they did not have that collar in size small?  I was indignant.

“Don’t they think small dogs would like to be bad-ass?”  I asked.  “No skulls for Spunky!  Hey, that”ll be the title of my blog post today.”  I always say, waste not, want not.

I paused in writing this midway through the fourth paragraph so we could take a short walk with Spunky and test the new harness.  It certainly does seem more comfortable for him, although it is such a warm day I can’t say it was the most comfortable walk for any of us.  Lots of people were out enjoying the day, which is bright and sunny, just the sort of June day lots of people love.  At one point, we crossed the street to avoid a larger dog who looked very interested in us.

“Does he want to play or is he saying, ‘Oh boy, lunch!'” I asked the dog’s person.  We were not close enough to find out for sure.

We were glad we went for a walk, and even more happy to be back in our house in front of fans with cold drinks.  And while my post may not be such a much, I comfort myself with the reflection that I avoided Wrist to Forehead Sunday, and I think my headline is kind of catchy.

 

Leave a Reply

