RSS Feed

We Bellied Up!

Last night when Tracy finally made it to Herkimer (see yesterday’s post about “Waitin’ on a Friend”), we were all famished.  I suggested Steven make us some scrambled eggs or something, but Tracy wanted more of an adventure.  Of course, she was the guest.  I suggested the Belly Up Pub.  It is close to our house and we have not been there since it re-opened under new management.

The Pub is now owned by the same fellow who owns Happen Inn in Little Falls, which had been one of the possibilities I considered earlier.  I figured we could count on a similar good meal at the new venue.  I was right.

We could have sat at the bar, at a tall table near the windows or at a regular size table.  I personally love to sit at a tall table, but Tracy said she was too short for a tall table.  We sat at a regular table and looked at the special board.  When the bartender was free, I went to the bar and asked was there table service or did we order from the bar.  She said we order from the bar and pointed out where menus are.  I got us menus and asked what Steven and Tracy wanted to drink.  Ice water with lemon for Tracy, Pinot Grigio for Steven and me.

It took longer to decide on food, but eventually I settled on a dozen steamed clams while Steven wanted a turkey club with fries, both of which were on the specials board.  Tracy ordered from the menu:  Wild Hog Wings and Portabello (my computer does not agree with ANY spelling I try of portobello and I cannot find it in my dictionary, how frustrating!) Mushroom Fries.  She insisted we help her finish the fries.  Yum!  The mushrooms had been sliced, breaded and deep-fried.  I love portobella mushrooms to begin with, and deep-fried is one of my favorite flavors.  I ate some of Steven’s french fries as well.  Yum!  Steven helped me with the clams, but Tracy did not.

We greatly enjoyed our dinner, and I plan to return to the Belly Up Pub soon.   I saw on their Facebook page they just expanded their hours, opening at 11 a.m. Monday through Saturday and at noon on Sunday.  Since I love going to a bar in the afternoon, this is great news for me.  The Belly Up Pub is located at 122 W. Albany St., Herkimer, NY, phone number 315-219-5578.  You can Like them on Facebook.  I did.

 

2 responses »

  1. The menu sounds fantastic and your portobello mushrooms deep fried, after slicing and breading, sound scrumptious!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

