RSS Feed

When in Doubt, Eat Ice Cream

Once again I did not write a blog post while on breaks at work.  I spent my working hours thinking about my banana play and coming up with no ideas.  If I had picked up a pen to write, I’m sure all that would have come out was what a writing crisis I was having.  I worked on cryptogram puzzles instead.  On the brighter side, I solved one that had mystified me on several previous attempts.

I made a stop on the way home, but it was at a chain drugstore.  There is nothing wrong with picking up needed items at such a store, I suppose, but it hardly offers the Mohawk Valley cachet I seek for a blog post.  It has been a dreadfully hot day (I recently read somewhere that you should say “sweltering” instead of “very hot,” but I can’t say the day felt sweltering. At least I did not use “very” for once) and I was coated with sweat by the time I got home.  Still, I got right outside with my little dog, Spunky.  We did not take a walk, though.  It was more of a brief business meeting.  There was not a chance I was going for a run.  So a Pedestrian Post or a Running Commentary was not going to happen.

Getting on the computer, I stared at a blank screen for a while.  Nothing happened.  I went into Drafts and looked at a couple I never finished but thought I might some day.  Today is not the day.  I added a couple of sentences to one.  I am not displeased with either, but, well, they need work.  I pondered my future as a blogger.

Then my husband Steven said that after the show we were watching was over (a re-run of Snapped, incidentally), he was getting a bowl of ice cream, would I like one?  It is not a good way to meet my weight-loss goals, but as a boost to my spirits, it seemed the way to go.  I said yes.  That at least gave me a title.  While I waited for the episode of Snapped to end and Steven to get our ice cream, I typed in the first paragraph and a half of this post.  After savoring the Death By Chocolate (if they meant it literally, I would have died happy), I  wrote the rest.

We’ll call this a Monday Mental Meanderings, and perhaps tomorrow I will explain exactly how I think I am ever going to meet those weight-loss goals.

 

7 responses »

  1. I will add this to my writing tool box. Ice cream = cure to writers block. Never doubt your blogging badassery, you have found the cure so many were looking for.

    Reply
    • Why thank you. Of course I am always suspicious of glib cures for writers block. However, I unreservedly recommend ice cream to all who like it (some misguided souls don’t like it or, even sadder, are allergic). The advantage is, even if it doesn’t cure the writer’s block, you get to eat ice cream.

      Reply
  2. As for weight loss I find eating the ice cream for dinner instead of after dinner really cuts down on the calories!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Another Slack, Another Shout | Mohawk Valley Girl

  4. Pingback: Oh I Can’t Publish This! | Mohawk Valley Girl

  5. Pingback: My Halloween Socks Are Clean | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

