RSS Feed

Slacker to Shout-Out

After a rather horrible blogging week (culminating in a Lame Friday Post that got zero Likes!), I find I must have a Slacker Saturday.  Or maybe it’s a blogger’s sick day.  At any rate, I intend to just type in some nonsense, hit Publish and get on with my evening.

First some complaining:  my head is spinning.  I had a headache every day this week.  When I woke up with the beginning of one this morning, I foolishly took some migraine medication.  Oh well, sometimes dizziness is better than pain.  It hasn’t been totally bad all day.  I got a few chores done: three loads of laundry, a (very) little cleaning and a trip to the store.  Oh, shout-out to a local business!  The post won’t be a total loss.

I went to T & J’s Fruits and Vegetables in Herkimer, NY (where I live).  I had taken some sausage out of the freezer for dinner and wanted a green pepper to go with it.  There were red peppers there too, but I decided on one green one for tonight.  I picked the one I liked best.  Then I saw some eggplants that looked nice.  Eggplant, pepper and sausage.  What could be better?

When I put them on the counter I saw some homegrown strawberries.  Yum!  The lady at the register recommended some cherries that were there as well.  I put my stuff down and said I just wanted to make sure there wasn’t something else there I’d like.  I was glad I did, because I had almost forgotten we’re out of yellow onions.  Sausage and pepper without onion?  Say it ain’t so!  I got some of the strawberries but declined the cherries.

Driving home I remembered garlic. Damn!  I had pulled the last bulb off the braid I had gotten at the Mohawk Valley Garden and Herb Festival in Little Falls last September (come to think of it, that braid lasted a LONG time.  I must not be cooking enough).  When I got home I checked and there are still a few cloves left.  Phew!

I feel certain my dizzy head will allow me to cook dinner without major mishap.  Perhaps I could write a post about it tomorrow on Wrist to Forehead Sunday.

 

3 responses »

  1. Hmmm… you’re making me hungry now. Hope you’re feeling better today. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Another Slack, Another Shout | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

