RSS Feed

Or Was It Cancer Fighting Benefits?

How about a Cooking In Progress post in lieu of my usual Wrist to Forehead Sunday?  I am in the midst of what I hope will be a delicious dinner.  While it cooks I am sipping a beverage, looking at Snapped and, well, typing this.  And I thought I couldn’t multi-task.

I multi-tasked while I was cooking too, and not just sipping and chopping.  I chopped with a dual purpose.  I made a salad for my lunch in the coming week and chopped vegetables to nibble on as well.  The vegetables I chopped included some rainbow peppers destined for dinner as well.   Ooh, that made it a triple purpose.

Of course my recipes often lack variety, but perhaps some readers have missed previous cooking posts or forgot about them or are new readers or will just forgive me.  Or they have already stopped reading, thinking, “I can’t read again how she crushed garlic and set the timer for 15 minutes so it would reach its full anti-oxident benefits, or was it cancer fighting?”

For anyone still reading, I peeled and crushed some garlic.  It is the last bulb from the braid I purchased at the Mohawk Valley Garlic and Herb Festival in Little Falls, NY last September.  Either that was a bigger braid than I have previously purchased or I have not been cooking nearly enough, because that braid has lasted me  long time!  Next I chopped a yellow onion and put it in olive oil in the cast iron frying pan.  Then I chopped the rainbow peppers into smaller pieces and added them to the pan.

The fifteen minutes have passed and the garlic is cooking now.  I have the heat on low and the pan covered with the lid cracked.  When things seem cooked enough I will put on water for angel hair pasta I happen to have from The Pasta Shoppe in Utica, NY (just for another bit of local).  I have some mushrooms to add to the frying pan as well, but those don’t take as long to cook.

Hmmm… I hope this post has been as amusing as my usual Wrist to Forehead schtick.  I always feel I should write a post about something other than Why I Can’t Write a Post Today, but then I worry that the posts about not writing are the more amusing.  Or do I flatter myself?

No matter.  I am over 350 words and I am going back to other Sunday activities.  Hope to see you all tomorrow for Monday Mental Meanderings.

 

Leave a Reply

