RSS Feed

Oh, So Sweet!

When Cheryl, Penny and I were out adventuring Saturday, our first stop was the sweetest:  the So Sweet Candy Cafe in Utica, NY.

The owner of the shop grew up across the street from us.  This is a fortunate circumstance for me, because otherwise it may have taken me longer to discover the place.  I don’t always get to Utica, and I don’t always stop at candy shops, because, you know, waistline.  Ooh, I just flashed on The Most Interesting Man in the World.  “I don’t always stop at candy shops, but when I do, I like the So Sweet Candy Cafe.”

The shop is located on the corner of Columbia and Varick (531 Varick St).   Cheryl was driving, another fortunate circumstance for me.  It’s kind of near the Saranac Brewery.  I am vaguely familiar with that area, because of running the Boilermaker, so I have reasonable hopes of finding the place again.  I have great faith in my local readers’ ability to find it, and I certainly advise you to try.  It’s a great little place.

In the display cases are baked goods and candies, many of which are made by Margaret, our friend the owner.  Old-fashioned and unusual candy is available as well.  Penny purchased some cinnamon toothpicks.  I got a little rubber ducky that looked like he was covered with fudge.  I also chose a number of treats from the display case.  They all featured dark chocolate, so that was healthy, right?

You can also get a cup of coffee or tea and sit at a table, enjoying your beverage and a baked good (for example).   I hope to do that one day soon with my husband Steve.  I’ll probably write a blog post about it.

For more information about the So Sweet Candy Cafe, call 315- 272-9953. You can also Like their Facebook page.

 

 

Leave a Reply

