RSS Feed

I Write, I Wuss

OK, I’m tired of typing that in.  I have not finished the post I mentioned yesterday, about the cheesy movie we saw, but I thought I would type in what I had and see if I couldn’t draw a conclusion.  I certainly get long-winded about these movies.  So now I’m stuck trying to come up with a Wuss-out Wednesday post.

Earlier I had thought to write a cooking post about what I made yesterday for dinner.  But when I was thinking about it, I realized that all my recipes are depressingly similar.  Put onions on the stove in some oil.  Crush garlic and set the timer for 15 minutes.  Add other stuff.  Eat.  Yum.  Not a bad recipe, really, but how often can I use it as a blog post?  How many times have I used it?  It is way too much trouble for me to check, so let’s count that as a rhetorical question.

I did do some writing while at work.  I began writing the banana play (I have a new working title now, but I don’t want to share it, because I’m afraid of its being stolen).  And I made up a new writing rule for myself: Don’t take breaks when working on a project.  I’ve attempted to implement this rule with novels.  I see now that it works with plays as well.

You see, I started working on the play (that is, started on yet another idea for that play) last week.  Monday through Friday I thought about it, and I got quite a few notes written.  Then the weekend came and I got a little busy.  So I didn’t work on it.  Sue me.  I thought I could jump right back into it.  Turns out not so much.  I spent Monday and Tuesday thinking about the play but felt somehow… outside of it.  I couldn’t get into it.  I made a couple of notes but felt ultimately stalled.

Today I looked over my notes some more and still felt stalled.  My problem was that I wanted to outline the whole play before I started writing.  I have never been able to do that, but since I have a problem with finishing things, I thought it would be a good thing to try.  I was not successful.  However, when I decided to just begin writing the first scene… it seemed to work.

So I have a page or two of Act I Scene 1.  I’ll keep you posted on how I’m doing.  In the meantime, I guess this is the best I can manage for a blog post today.  Happy Wednesday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

