RSS Feed

Thank You, Utica Roasting

While I was out and about on Saturday, one of my stops was at Utica Coffee Roasting Company.  Full disclosure:  I was looking for a distinctive local place I could potentially write about for Mohawk Valley Living magazine.  I think I found one and must get to writing that article, but for now I will content myself with a blog post.

I was on Genessee Street, which looks as if it goes right to the Roasting Company with very little effort on my part.  However, since that section of the street is one way in the wrong direction, I had to overshoot it and turn back.  This accomplished, I found a parking space and walked up to the place.

Saturday had turned into a beautiful, sunny day, and some people were sitting on tables outside the place.  I could see one seat at one empty table (the rest were all crowded around another table, as sometimes happens at these establishments).  Inside, I saw that one of the tall tables I so love was available.  I hoped it would still be available after I ordered.

I got plain, regular hot coffee instead of one of the many other choices available, and asked what kind of bagels they had.  At first the girl said they had Everything.

“My favorite!” I said.

“Oh, wait, it’s onion.  I’m sorry.”

“That’s OK,  I like onion.”  Onion bagels used to be my favorite, as a matter of fact, but I did not burden her with the information.

The tall table was still free.  Yes!  There were also seats free at the bar across the front window.  These had been fully occupied when I walked in.  I do like to sit at the window, so I may go for one of those seats at a future visit.

As I sat, sipping and eating, I looked around at the decor and other patrons.  I opened my notebook and began to write.  Ah, yes, to WRITE!  Regular readers may know I have been having a few problems with that lately.  It felt really good to sit there with words coming out of my pen for a change.  I can’t say that what I wrote was such a much, but that’s not the point.  I wrote.  I was happy.

Utica Coffee Roasting Company is located at 92 Genessee St., Utica NY, phone number 315- 624-9596.  You can also Like them on Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

