RSS Feed

Rummage Rounds on Scattered Saturday

I had a long and varied Scattered Saturday today (and it’s not over yet), but for this post I shall only highlight the early portion of the day.

We slept in past 6:30 and it was great!  After some coffee, a little food, and a quick chat with my Mom on the phone, I wrote a few postcards.  Regular readers may remember it is a hobby of mine to send a few postcards to a few people, usually on Saturday.  I have been quite remiss in doing this for the past few weeks, due to theatre commitments (you may also remember I directed the show Leading Ladies at Ilion Little Theatre; we have a show again tonight, and closing performance is tomorrow’s matinee), so I was happy to at last check in with my friends.

I was also happy to walk to the post office.  I intend to start running again but I was afraid if I did it this morning, I might feel too tired for all the stuff I hoped to get done.  Oh, what a lovely spring morning.  I felt glorious, stretching my legs and checking out the leaves that are at last appearing on the trees.  One of my favorite sights is the pale, fresh green of brand new leaves.  That color lasts such a short time, I’m always happy when I don’t miss it for the year.

At the post office, I noticed signs for two church rummage sales, right along the way I often walk home for the post office. Dollar bag day was going on.  Score!

First I went to Christ Episcopal on Main Street.  I grabbed two beautifully colored blazers that I knew would look awesome over my black sheath dress.  I also found a pretty blouse, a biography of Louisa May Alcott (I have been WANTING to read a biography about her!), a green shawl and a small box or carrying jewelry when traveling.  It was two dollars worth.

I knew some of the ladies there.  One of them asked me if I had anything going on at the theatre.  Naturally I said yes, a play going on tonight.  They remembered seeing me in Roxy (a play we did back in the fall for the Herkimer Historical Society; perhaps you read some of my blog posts about it).

“Oh yes,” I said.  “They hung me good, after I killed my rat bastard husband with an ax.”

Another lady told me she could have thought of a number of other ways to kill him and I should have come to her first.  I agreed that would have been a better thing to do.

Moving on to the Herkimer Reformed Church, at the Historic Four Corners, I was also lucky.  I found a canister set such as I have been wanting but have not had a chance to look for.  It would have been five dollars yesterday, but I got it for a buck today.  It was the only thing I got, but I felt quite pleased with it.

Walking home was a little problematic with all my finds.  I had neglected to put my cell phone back in my purse or I could have called Steven for a ride.  Luckily, my house is not that far away, and I made it without mishap.

My Scattered Saturday has continued to go rather well for me, except for a migraine headache I am currently writing around.  Does it show?  No matter.  I have to finish getting ready for tonight’s performance of Leading Ladies.  I’m wearing one of my new rummage sale blazers.

 

Leave a Reply

