RSS Feed

Well, I Need Fabulous Feet

So I’m still posting about Leading Ladies (you know, that play I directed at Ilion Little Theatre; I’ve written a few blog posts about it), but here is another post that is mostly about me (I know, what isn’t?) and incorporates a shout-out to a local business.

I’ve mentioned how as director I have to give the curtain speech before performances, pointing out the emergency exits, reminding people to turn off their phones and basically welcoming them.  It is a good idea to dress nicely for such a chore.  Well, I wear army pants and steel-toe shoes to work every day.  When I have a chance to dress up, I like to look fabulous.  Additionally, I told the cross-dressing guys in my show that I would wear uncomfortable shoes in solidarity with them.

I don’t often wear uncomfortable shoes, but I have several pair.  Some of them didn’t used to be too uncomfortable, before I had bunion surgery on both feet.  Sometimes I think I ought to get rid of stuff I never wear.  Then I don’t do anything about it until I find an opportunity to wear them again.  So it was that on Friday I pulled out my black patent-leather pumps, feeling pleased with myself.

Only to realize that the doo-dah had come off the heel (when I don’t know the official name for something, I call it a doo-dah). Damn!  I had had those doo-dahs replaced — good God, over ten years ago! —  when we lived in Georgia.  Who knew they would all off again?  I found another pair of shoes to wear that night.  The next night, having found an even more fabulous outfit, I was happy to pull out the short suede boots my sister gave me years ago.  Imagine my chagrin to find that this pair suffered the same problem.  Once again, I was glad I hadn’t gotten rid of the pair of shoes I wore instead.

Thus it was that after work today, I stopped by Melfe’s Shoe Service in Ilion, NY.  This is wear I get my work footwear, but I figured they could do repairs on something more fabulous.  I was right.  Unfortunately, they won’t be ready for a week or more.  Rats!  I wanted to wear them to the show this weekend.  I said I knew I was taking my chances bringing them in on Wednesday, but I hadn’t even known they needed the repair before last Friday.

“Oh well,” I philosophized.  “I’ll just have to invent another occasion to wear them on.”

“Or it’s an occasion for shoe shopping,” the clerk suggested.  I like the way she thinks.

Melfe’s is located at 64 Central Ave, Ilion, phone number 315-894-.4049.

 

Leave a Reply

