RSS Feed

Pre-Matinee Wrist

If ever I needed a Wrist to Forehead Sunday, today is the day.  Oh, who am I kidding?  I need these excuses for a foolish blog post several times in any given week.  In fact, I needed one yesterday but serendipitously found an unused shout-out to a local business in my notebook (my computer seems to think “serendipitously” is not a word but is okay with “serendipitous,” so go figure).

Where was I?  Ah yes, posed dramatically with one wrist to my forehead (only figuratively, because I like to type with both hands), lamenting, “The blog can’t go on!”  You know, like, “The show can’t go on!”  Only the show will go on.  That’s Leading Ladies, the show I directed at Ilion Little Theatre.  Today is the matinee.  We had shows Friday and Saturday night, and the show continues next weekend.

We had the BEST opening night!  I was so proud and happy I got tears in my eyes during curtain call.  My cast and crew are so wonderful.  I kind of feel as if the show is all theirs and I’m just along for the ride.  I seem to remember doing a lot of work on it (and writing numerous blog posts; perhaps you read a few of them).  I definitely remember thinking, “I will NEVER direct another show again!”  Well, never say never, except when you say, “never say never.”  I probably won’t direct another show this year, but who knows what the future will bring?

Our second performance went even better.  The audience loved us.  I guess mostly they loved the people on stage, but there were a couple of points where I thought to myself, “I told them to do that.”  Of course there were many, many wonderful things I didn’t tell them to do that they came up with on their own, and even when I made a suggestion they had to make it their own.  Still, I believe I did have something to do with our success.

So why, you may well ask, is my wrist to my forehead?  Oh, don’t mind me.  I’m just tired, and my house is a mess.  I’ve been trying to clean and do laundry prior to today’s matinee and I must say it isn’t going well.  Of course one must persevere.  For one reason, I’ve invited everyone over for a cook-out in two weeks.  That’s not a lot of time, given the mess I’ve let my house get in.

As a wise woman once said, “Oh well, what the hell?” (It was my mother.)  The important thing is that I take a shower and find a fabulous outfit to wear to the show.  It’s at Ilion Little Theatre, Remington Avenue, Ilion, NY, today (May 1) at 2 p.m., May  6 and 7 at 8 p.m., and May 8 at 2 p.m.  For more information, visit ILT’s website at www.ilionlittletheatre.org.

 

4 responses »

  1. Congratulations on the success of your show!

    Reply
  2. I am so glad the opening show went well and hope that your wrist is okay. . . out of time and grandson pulling my arm to leave library! hugs! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

