RSS Feed

Filling Our Bellies

Last Sunday, when Steven and I decided to have breakfast out before tackling our other chores (which included painting the stage floor for Leading Ladies; you didn’t think I wasn’t going to mention the play, did you?), I suggested Belly Busters in Herkimer.  I had purchased donuts there on Saturday (the traditional bribe for people working on your set on a Saturday morning) and wanted to check out the rest of the menu.

It’s a bright, airy place with lots of room.  The big windows let in plenty of sunshine, so things were very cheerful on Sunday, which was, local readers may recall, a beautiful day (or they may not recall; I realize it was six days ago) (I’ve been busy with a play, you may have heard).

I was happy to order my favorite, a breakfast sandwich (or “sammich,” as I like to say) on a hard roll with bacon, egg and cheese.  Steven decided to try the breakfast pizza with sausage, pepper, egg and cheese.  Both were delicious.

As we were waiting for our food, I said I was happy to find this place, because of how much I miss Chet’s Diner.  A fellow at another table told us the chef at Belly Busters used to cook for Chet’s.

“For a while he was at Donna’s Diner, now he’s here.”

That led to a discussion about how Donna’s Diner is now Mandy’s and the Family Funhouse in Mohawk now houses Mona’s.  So that makes two other places I’d like to write about.  Goody!  More breakfasts out!

Belly Busters is located at 225 West State St., Herkimer, NY, phone number 866-6700.  You can also Like their Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

