RSS Feed

One Week to Bald!

I had a couple of other things to write about today, but as I washed my hair this morning, I thought, “I won’t be doing this a week from tomorrow,” and then the above title occurred to me and, well…

So on Sunday, April 10, I go to Arthur’s in Dolgeville, NY, for a St. Baldrick’s Day Foundation event.  Yes, I am going to have my stupid head shaved (um, “stupid head” is how Steven and I generally refer to our melons, ever since the infamous day when Steven lamented, “I hit my stupid head!”).  I have been asking friends, family and co-workers to sponsor me with donations that will fund children’s cancer research.  They have responded with generosity and not a few jokes.

A few friends have even promised to come to Arthur’s on the day with me.   I’m thinking we will have some food, a few drinks, a lot of laughs, and possibly post a picture on Facebook.  I’ve been bald before.  Some people think I look kind of cute that way.

Of course with baldness looming ever closer, my hair has responded by looking pretty damn good lately.  A co-worker thought I should dye it purple while I still had it, so I picked up some stuff that adds streaks.  I really like the purple streaks.  What am I thinking, getting rid of this crowning glory (no, really, that is how some people refer to hair).

What I am mostly thinking is that my earrings will show up better.  You know how I love my earrings.  Oh, I know, I am supposed to be thinking about how it is such a good cause and how maybe one day we will find a cure for cancer and I can feel I was a small part of it.  Am I really that profound?  Not usually.

In any case, if anybody wants to donate to St. Baldrick’s Foundation, my website is https://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/813330/2016.  And any local readers who want to make their way to Arthur’s in Dolgeville on April 10 at 1 p.m., come on down!

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

