RSS Feed

Ah Yes, About the Bald

I have not given a bald update in a while.  Regular readers may remember that I have signed up to participate in a St. Baldrick’s Foundation fundraiser. That means I get my head shaved after asking my friends and family to donate money.

Money raised goes to fund children’s cancer research.  I do it to honor my Aunt Carlyn.  Of course, she was not a child when cancer took her from us, but I feel sure she would support the cause.  I chose St. Baldrick’s because, well, I wanted to be bald for a good reason.

Being me, I have to second guess my choices. Is this just another way to call attention to myself?  A good way to sleaze a free haircut? Well, it isn’t exactly free, because Steven and I donated on my fundraiser page too.  I suppose it is a way to get a haircut without having to decide how to cut it and with no point in worrying if it is not the most flattering (although at least one man said I was beautiful after I did it last time).

As I write this, I begin to feel feel that this second guessing is just more of those profitless questions I was writing about yesterday.  I decided to do this, and it is a goodthing to do. I will wear my bald head proudly, in solidarity with cancer patients everywhere.

If anybody would like to join me in my bald endeavor, they can visit the St. Baldrick’s website at http://www.stbaldricks.org/. If you are not local, you can type in your zip code andfind an event near you.  If you are local, please consider becoming bald with me on Sunday, April 10, at Arthur’s in Dolgeville, NY.  If you don’t care to be bald, you can still come to Arthur’s that day. They are donating a percentage of food and beverage sales that day to St. Baldrick’s.  If you would just like to make a donation, my participant page is https://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/813330/2016.

 

4 responses »

  1. Do you wear a military uniform for work? If so did you have to get permission to shave your head? I know at one point faddish haircuts were a no-no for the military. Are they still?

    Reply
    • I think they are, but I’m not in the military any more. I work in a factory. I wear my old BDU pants to work, because they are comfortable and the cargo pockets are convenient. Also I don’t have many pairs of pants that fit. But my bosses are OK with shaved heads.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

