RSS Feed

Whine, then Run, then Wine

As I was leaving work this afternoon, I said to my friend, “When I get home, should I go running or have a beer?”

“Go running,” she said.

I usually take the stairs down, but I got on the elevator with her to argue the point.  “Or I could have a glass of wine,”  I suggested.

“Go running,” she said.

“That sounds good,” a guy said.

“The run or the beer?” I said.

“The glass of wine,” he said.

“I’m going to take his advice,”  I told my friend.  “He is obviously much better at giving advice than you are.”

When I got home, I put on my running clothes and went running.  I thought that after I ran a beer or a glass of wine would be a fitting reward.  I thought of the headline as I was running.  In fact, I have been whining all day.  Don’t judge.

It was not a long run but it was also not a bad run. The temperature was warm with a pleasant breeze, perfect for my pace.  A few drops of rain fell while I was out there, but I did not let it deter me.  The sun came back out as I walked my cool-down. I can’t say my body particularly enjoyed the run, but as usual I was glad I had gone.

As you can see, I am not writing a full-blown Running Commentary post.  The fact is, I’m still not feeling 100 percent, and I have one more chore to take care of before I’m done for the day.  Hope to see you all on Lame Post Friday.

I still haven’t gotten my glass of wine yet.

 

Leave a Reply

