RSS Feed

For the Kitties

Today was the H.A.L.O. Chinese Auction at Silverado in Herkimer, NY.  I had donated an afghan, as I like to do for almost any worthy cause.  H.A.L.O., for the uninitiated, is the Helping Animals Live Organization, a no-cage, no-kill cat rescue group.

So I attended the event to support a worthy cause (noble), to try to win something fun (more self-serving), and to check out how many people put tickets in to try to win what I donated (completely self-serving).  This is how I multi-task.

The auction opened at 11 a.m., and it wasn’t too long after that that we pulled up to the Silverado Inn on Marginal Road in Herkimer, NY.  It wasn’t too hard to find a parking spot, but there were already a lot of vehicles there.  It was pretty crowded inside as well.

We paid $20 for two sets of 125 tickets and started walking around, deciding what to put in for.  There was a lot!  And there were a lot of people putting in for things.  Luckily, people were pretty polite as we maneuvered around one another, looking at prizes and putting in our numbers.

I finished before Steven and made my way to the bar.  It was perhaps a little early to be imbibing, but I wanted to support Silverado as well as H.A.L.O.  After all, they open their doors on a Sunday to support a non-profit. I feel I should do what I can to make it worth their while.  Steven eventually joined me and we had a couple of glasses of Merlot.  I also got a hot dog, sold by H.A.L.O., so I am all kinds of charitable today.

Drawings for prizes began at 2 p.m., that is about ten minutes before I started making this post.  I hope we win something.

For more information on H.A.L.O., you can visit their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HALO-Helping-Animals-Live-Organization-270498491799/timeline.

 

Leave a Reply

