RSS Feed

Friday with Fish

As Steven’s birthday weekend continues, I am no more inclined to cook or wash dishes than I have been during the week.  Luckily Steven was pleased to have dinner out again.  He wanted fish fry.  I remembered that Salvatore’s in Herkimer usually offers a fish fry special on Fridays.  We often call Salvatore’s for delivery, but it is also a good place to eat in.

The parking lot seemed full when we got there, but we easily got a table and were soon perusing menus.  Steven got the fish sandwich, which came with fries.  He said yes to tomato, lettuce, mayonnaise and tartar sauce.  I chose the baked haddock with ranch dressing on the salad.  It came with pasta.  I asked for butter and garlic instead of tomato sauce.  We each got  glass of Pinot Grigio as well as water with lemon.

The chef put a little parsley on my spaghetti along with the butter and garlic.  I asked for grated cheese, and a spoon.  I am quite adept at twirling my spaghetti, as a result of growing up in an Italian family.  Spaghetti and meatballs was a high treat for Sunday dinner.  I have since read that it is most proper to twirl your spaghetti on the plate; using a spoon is second best, and cutting the noodles up is downright vulgar.  Of course I’m going to eat my pasta the way I like to and not worry about somebody else’s arbitrary rules, but I can’t help making note of these things.

Speaking of downright vulgar, I know one is supposed to cut the lettuce in the salad.  I’ve seen people do it quite classily; it spreads the dressing around nicely.  I got lettuce on the table.  You can neither dress me up nor take me out, it seems.

The people at Salvatore’s wished Steven a happy birthday a day late.  Their Facebook page had wished him well on the day.  We like Salvatore’s.

Salvatore’s is located at 650 1/2 German St., Herkimer, NY, phone number  (315) 866-2600.  You can also find them on Facebook.

 

2 responses »

  1. Happy birthday to Steven. I liked your meal you chose with the haddock, salad with ranch on it and noodles with butter and parmesan cheese with parsley thrown on top by the kitchen staff. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

