RSS Feed

My Local Valentine

Happy Valentine’s Day, everybody.  Somebody on Facebook (really an invaluable source of information) said it was Galentine’s Day, when women can appreciate all their female buddies.  Imagine my disappointment to find out it had nothing to do with my favorite TV show, Galavant.  But I digress.

Digress from what, my inner critic huffs (that is, says in a huffy tone of voice; it’s not like snorting fumes or something),  you haven’t written anything yet.  Too true, too true.  Then again, this is Wrist to Forehead Sunday, is it not?  Yes, my friends, it is.

It is dreadfully cold in the Mohawk Valley today.  We were remarking on it to the fellow at T & J’s Fruits and Vegetables earlier.  It has really been not a bad winter so far.  What I really like about the frigid temperatures is how balmy 20 degrees feels afterward, because perspective is a wonderful thing.

We were at T & J’s at my suggestion to purchase eggplant for a yummy Valentine’s Day dinner, which is currently baking in the oven.  We also got a red and a yellow pepper, some sharp cheddar cheese, a bag of MacIntosh apples and a loaf of bread from  Star Bakery in Utica, NY (see, all kinds of local in today’s post).

In addition to the eggplant and peppers, the dinner features some sausage I purchased two weeks ago at Melrose Market in Frankfort, NY. They have quite a good butcher department.  And, yes, the sausage has been in my freezer since I bought it; I’m not cooking rancid sausage (Sheesh!).  Oh, I also used some garlic purchased at the Mohawk Valley Garlic and Herb Festival in Little Falls NY, last September.

With or after dinner, we will enjoy EITHER a nice champagne we got at a wine tasting at Vintage Spirits in Herkimer OR some Cayuga White from Villa Verona Vineyards, in, of course, nearby Verona, NY.  I got that at Valley Wine and Liquor in Herkimer (I like to spread my alcohol dollar around).

As a matter of fact, I just heard a cork pop.  I think it’s time to start sipping the champagne now. Once again, I wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day.

 

Leave a Reply

