RSS Feed

A New Farmers Market for Me

Did I say yesterday that I was going in backwards order of the Saturday adventures Cheryl, Penny and I had?  And did I also say I would probably change my mind and skip around instead?  I guess it doesn’t matter, because today I’m going to talk about our first stop, Westmoreland Winter Farmers Market.

Of course I am a great fan of farmers markets, so I was happy to check out a new one.  It runs on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to noon at the Westmoreland Firehouse.  We were happy it was indoors since there was quite a crisp wind blowing Saturday morning.

I was delighted to find a bag of mixed lettuce at Takacs & Daughter Produce’s table.  I’ve been taking tossed salad for my lunch every day (you see I don’t ALWAYS cheat on my diet).  It was organic.  I don’t always pay much attention to the organic/non-organic thing, but I’m sure in many cases, organic is better.

We all had a nice chat with Susie Jones of Jones Family Farm.  We sampled some of her cheese. Yum!  Cheryl and Penny both bought some.  I fear I cheated on my diet with the sample, because it was on a cracker.  However, I noted that it was less of a cheat than the brownies from Utica Bread I had eaten at a wine tasting Friday night.  Susie said she had never thought of chocolate and wine together.  I told her dark chocolate and dry red wine are great (yes, I introduce wine into many conversations, I thought you knew that about me).

I feel bad that I am not mentioning other vendors.   I’ll have to return to the market and take better notes next time.  In the meantime, if you’re interested, you can visit their Facebook page.  Or better yet, visit the market.  Maybe I’ll see you there.

 

Leave a Reply

