RSS Feed

Off the Diet? Who Cares!

I was going to write posts about Saturday’s adventures in chronological order, beginning where we began and going on from there.  How about if I go in backwards order instead, beginning with our final adventure?   I say that today; probably tomorrow I’ll decide to just skip around.  Be that as it may, I’m going to give another shout-out to Symeon’s Greek Restaurant in Yorkville.

When Cheryl, Penny and I began our adventures, we knew the adventures would include lunch, we just didn’t know where.  We talked about various places as our adventures took us far and wide.  When Symeon’s was suggested, I rejoiced.  It had been a while since I had eaten at Symeon’s.   Too long, I say, and I say that every time I drive by the place, which is not as often as it was when I used to work in New Hartford (ooh, long sentence, probably not grammatically correct, oh well).

We had a very short (“less than five minutes,” the hostess said) wait for a table, but soon we were perusing menus.  EVERYTHING looked good!  I finally decided to get a Xanthi, which I had never tried before.  I wrote the description in my little notebook:  “Thracian chicken with crispy fried eggplant, roasted red peppers, onions, feta cheese and a spice version of our yogurt sauce.”  Eggplant!  YUM! I love eggplant!  Cheryl got a fish sandwich, while Penny had an antipasto salad.  For an appetizer we shared Fried Calamari.

Yes, this was not on my diet, which is the first, strictest phase of the South Beach Diet.  I don’t care.  It was DELICIOUS!  In fact, if I was going off my diet, I think a flatbread sandwich with chicken and vegetables is not a bad choice.  The fried calamari I do not mention, except to say that I’ve had fried calamari all over the valley and this was EXCELLENT fried calamari.

We declined dessert, although I said it was good that nobody had said the words “chocolate mousse” to me, because I know Symeon’s makes a great mousse.  I will just have to go back sooner next time.  Perhaps when I am off this diet.

Symeon’s Greek Restaurant is located at 4941 Commercial Drive in Yorkville, NY.  Phone number is 315-736-4047.

 

Leave a Reply

