RSS Feed

Oh Yeah, I’m Going to be Bald!

Some time ago I mentioned that I have signed up for a St. Baldrick’s Foundation fundraiser.  I am going to have my head shaved after begging my friends, family, co-workers and blog readers for donation to fund children’s cancer research.

I did this once before.  I raised over $600 thanks to some very generous people, and I got a few blog posts out of it (perhaps you read one or two).  I don’t mind being bald. Oh, I’ll admit to a few moments of “What the Hell was I thinking?”  But on the whole, it’s fun to be bald.  I’m looking forward to it.

What I am not looking forward to is asking people for money.  I HATE asking people for money!  I know it is a good cause and most people do not mind being asked.  But I feel dumb and I just can’t get over it.

So I have been putting it off.  Of course, it’s no good to start these things too soon, I tell myself.  However, if I put it off too long, I will look really stupid in front of the other bald people, because I won’t have gotten any donations.  Oh dear.

In fact, I have gotten one donation.  My Aunt Mary (ooh, I hope she doesn’t mind me mentioning this) read my blog post saying I had signed up for the event, and she sent me a check.  My first donation!  Thanks, Aunt Mary!

The event is Sunday, March 6, at Arthur’s in Dolgeville, NY.  For Steven and me, it will be the culmination of a delightful four-day weekend to celebrate his birthday.  How many people do you know that get a bald wife for their birthday?  Oh, don’t worry, I’ll get him other presents as well.

In the meantime, if any of you lovely people would like to make a present to children’s cancer research, I do have one of those fundraising websites: https://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/813330/2016.  And if anybody has any pointers on how not to feel stupid when asking folks for money, feel free to chime in.

 

Leave a Reply

